Top of Page
Skip main navigation
Travel Study Programs

Travel Study

For more than 10 years the College of Pharmacy has been offering an annual Travel Study Program. The program provides students with an overview, understanding, and appreciation for pharmaceutical and medical practices practiced outside of the United States. It also provides an opportunity for students to participate in experiences with public health and health care professionals, promotes inter professional collaboration, and allows students to advocate for the pharmacy profession. Programs include visits to local pharmacies, hospitals, industries, governmental agencies, and much more. 

Travel Study programs are led by NSU College of Pharmacy faculty members and take place during the summer semester, with the travel portion lasting an average of three weeks. Students earn three elective credits that are part of the Pharm.D. curriculum and the program is open to students from accredited colleges and universities. The popular cultural component of each travel study program encompasses many aspects of cultural immersion including local food, art, history, museums, theatre, and the health care system of the country/region visited. 

The application process has been completed for the 2018 Spain Travel Study program. Accepted students will learn about the practice of pharmacy of Spain and the European Union. The course dates are from May 14 through August 19, 2018 with the tentative travel dates of June 8 through June 24, 2018.  As part of the program, there is a three credit hour elective course offered. Each opportunity is open to all students from U.S. accredited colleges of pharmacy. During the application process, students are welcome to apply to Nova Southeastern University as a non-degree seeking student. 

Program topics include:

  • Pharmacy-related legislation in Spain and the European Union
  • The drug development process at the national and community levels
  • New drug development and drug surveillance in Spain
  • Industrial production and distribution of medications in Spain
  • Breakthroughs in European drug development research
  • Use, misuse, and abuse of alternative medicine in Spain
  • The pharmacy curriculum and future of healthcare in Spain

Tentative visits include:

  • Pharmacies throughout Spain
  • The Spanish equivalent of the United States FDA
  • A local cancer research center
  • The College of Pharmacy in Salamanca
  • The Pharmacy Cooperative of Salamanca
  • Cultural activities in the Spanish cities of Madrid, Toledo, Salamanca, and Granada

The total cost of the program includes tuition (3 credit hours), ground transportation, cultural and professional excursions, accommodations with daily breakfast, health insurance, and a travel study polo shirt. The costs that are not included are airfare, baggage fees, personal travel costs, travel insurance, additional meals (lunch, dinner, snacks), and tips. For more information on future travel study programs, contact Brian Stonebraker, International Program Coordinator, at

Pictured above:  Manuel Carvajal, Ph.D. (front right) with students visiting a clinic in Argentina in 2017.

Previous Travel Study Programs

2007 China

2008 China, including Japan

2009 United Kingdom, including France

2010 China, including Japan

2012 Puerto Rico

2013 Slovakia, including the Czech Republic, Austria, and Hungary

2014 Spain

2015 Slovakia, including Italy

2016 Spain

2017 Slovakia, including Italy

2017 Argentina

2018 Spain

Return to top of page